Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Usually, the revision process is incredibly satisfying for me; to paraphrase Michelangelo’s reputed saying, all the material’s present, I just have to chisel away the unneeded bits. This time, though, the revision process is like pulling teeth with a pair of pliers; there’s just so many scenes and plotlines that I love, but since I don’t want to confuse the issue too much, I’m trying to simplify it a bit. To make it worse, I’m planning on taking the series in a new direction with my next attempt, so I can’t even save the good scenes that don’t fit into Memorythief for the next book.

Maybe I should learn to let stuff go, but if I could do that, I wouldn’t have become an author and artist in the first place.

On a somehow-related topic (at least in my brain it is), here’s the rough version I did for Yggdrasil, the Tree that holds the worlds in Norse myth, with a human character for scale. Amazingly, I got the scale right the first time I tried, instead of having to do three or four renders to tweak it.Yggdrasil

